How Much I Love You, Revisited

This is a follow-on to How Much I Love You. If you haven’t read it, you might start there.

On a recent weekday morning, Hal came into the bathroom. “I love you so much, Mommy. Do you know how much I love you?”

This was his first time to ask me this question since the disastrous evening when he announced he only loved me “this much”, with his hands barely 18 inches apart.

With a little bit of trepidation and a little bit more hope, I asked “How much do you love me?”

He smiled broadly, stretched his arms wide and back, and exclaimed, “THIS MUCH!”

I returned the smile saying, “Well, I love you THIS much!” and mimicking the gesture.

Then he got a serious expression on his face. “I don’t want to only love you this much.” He put his hands in the narrow gap he had used before. “I hate putting my hands only this far apart.”

Was this an apology?

2 thoughts on “How Much I Love You, Revisited

  1. Like the update, but I must admit, the (what I assume are) snowflakes kind of freaked me out. I didn’t notice them, or they hadn’t loaded or something, when I first opened the window, so after I finished reading the blog I saw a tiny white speck floating across the right side of my screen. Then another one. I though I was seeing things! Sorry for the non sequitur. 🙂

    • I’ve gotta admit that I’m not sure if I like the snowflakes either. It’s a “Christmas” option that you can enable. I’m guessing maybe it’s more effective on blog themes that don’t use a white background.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

