Annoying People And The People Who Love Them

As we drove home from volleyball practice tonight, Jane told me about a new girl at school.

“She’s like I was when I was in the fourth grade. She reads all the time. I mean, all the time.”

“Someone who reads that much is a good person to be friends with,” I replied.

“Mom, she’s annoying.”

“The smart kids usually are annoying.”

“No, I mean she’s really, really annoying.”

Referencing two of her best friends, I said, “It’s a good thing Allison and Jenny are capable of being friends with really annoying people.”

I glanced at her out of the corner of my eye and was rewarded with a shocked, indignant, and wide-mouth look as my meaning sunk in. Man, I love it when I catch her off-guard like that.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

