Last Chance

Another car ride conversation with Hal.

“Mommy, Preston had his last chance to come to my birthday party. He can’t come anymore.”

“Why is that?”

“Because he had his last chance!”

“But why is that?” I’m trying to figure out if Preston is moving away. That’s the only reason I can think of for Preston being unable to come to Hal’s next birthday party, which is still six months away.

BECAUSE HE HAD HIS LAST CHANCE!!

“OK, Hal. I understand he had his last chance, but why? Why can’t he come to your birthday party?”

“Well, he can come to the one where I stop being five.”

“Why can’t he come to the one where you stop being four?”

“Because he had his LAST CHANCE. He was mean to me today so he’s not going to come to my birthday party where I turn five. But if he starts being nice to me again then he can come to the one where I turn six and all the others, as long as he keeps being nice, but not the next one. He had his last chance.”

Obviously, Hal was a bit put out by his interactions with Preston at school today.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

