Statue of Liberty… Attacks!

SPOILER ALERT: This post includes spoilers for “Angels Take Manhattan”, episode 5, season 7 of Doctor Who.

While riding in the car with my mother-in-law, my husband commented on his desire to go to New York City and see the Statue of Liberty. Daryl called out from the back of the minivan, “Why didn’t the Statue of Liberty go ahead and take Amy and Rory?”

He’s referring to the last Amy Pond episode of Doctor Who, Angels Take Manhattan, specifically a pivotal scene in which Amy and her husband Rory find themselves trapped on top of a building with the Statue of Liberty looming ominously on the other side of the building, mouth open in an angry snarl. The Statue of Liberty, like all other statues in Manhattan, is actually a Weeping Angel who will feed off their time energy if she can touch them. Weeping Angels can’t move while you are looking at them though. Just don’t blink.

At the start of the scene, Rory is keeping his eyes on her as he prepares to jump off the building to die and thus cause a paradox and hopefully, maybe, destroy all the Angels. But as he and Amy argue over whether this is a good idea, it becomes obvious that no one is paying the statue any attention. They have eyes only for each other.

“I’ve got five letters for you,” I quipped. This is an old family joke invoked anytime someone questions something happening in a movie or TV show. My husband used to say it to me, referring to the script. After he had used it several times, I realized, and pointed out with relish, that S-C-R-I-P-T has six letters. But the joke lives on with five.

Anyway, this particular plot point had bothered me too and I said so. “He started off watching her but then when he and Amy started pledging their undying love for each other, they started looking soulfully in each other’s eyes. She totally should have touched him then. I agree.”

“Well,” said my mother-in-law, “the Statue of Liberty is French and they can be dreadfully romantic. Perhaps she was just caught up in the moment.”

“That would make sense,” I said. “But then again, they were discussing what to do to destroy her so it seems like she would have intervened.”

My husband then joined in with his opinion on the matter: “The French never were very good at defending themselves.” Spoken like a true American.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

