No Good Deed

Hal and Jane and I were sitting down at the table at Wendy’s to quickly eat our dinner before going to pick up Daryl. Hal was already rummaging through his Kid’s Meal bag to see if he had gotten the timer toy he wanted.

He had not.

This caused him to begin the whine routine. A little frazzled, I glanced at my watch. We only had ten minutes to eat.

“Please just eat your food, honey. We’ll see about getting you a different toy in just a minute.”

A dad sitting nearby with his daughter called out, “Here. Would he like this one?”

I turned around to see him extending a toy. “It’s the timer,” he said with a smile.

“Are you sure?” I asked.

“Yes. She’s already got the timer.”

“Well, thank you!” I said as I traded Hal’s hacky sack for the timer. Then I turned to the little girl slumped down in the booth and said, “Thank you too, little lady!”

As we settled down at our table for our eating sprint, the whine routine began at their table.

“But I don’t want that ball! I want the timer!”

“But you already have the timer.”

“I don’t care. I want my timer back. I don’t want the ball. I want a different toy.”

The dad and I soon found ourselves at the condiment table together. I whispered, “If you need to trade back, that’s fine.”

“No, she’s just being selfish. It’s fine.”

“Ok, if you say so. I appreciate you.”

The little girl continued to protest as he approached the counter to ask for the trade that was actually mine to request. It’s just proof that, especially when you have kids, no good deed goes unpunished.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

