Pantomime

One of Jane’s friends asked her to accompany her to the skating rink this evening. The friend had been invited by another friend but didn’t know any of the friend’s friends so was concerned about going without a backup friend. Clear as mud, right?

No matter. It’s not what this tale is about. It just sets the scene. We arrived at the skating rink before the friend arrived. Jane and I were standing at the door while my husband and Hal and Rose, the dog, waited in the car about thirty feet away.

As per her custom, Rose moved up to the front passenger seat – my seat – and sat down, looking out the windows as if she belonged there. I gestured toward the dog and then lifted my arms to the sides with my palms up in a what’s up with that?! gesture.

My husband shrugged back and grinned. I shook my finger at him. He gave the dog a hug and me another grin. I then brushed my backside. He responded by patting the dog vigorously and then bursting out laughing at my shocked indignation.

“Pretty cool that we just pantomimed that entire conversation, huh?” I said to Jane.

“What are you talking about?”

“Daddy and I. The conversation we just had.” She looked at me like I was crazy. “It’s simple,” I said. “I expressed displeasure that the dog was in my seat. He pretended he didn’t know what my problem was. I got onto him for it and he laughed at me. Then I indicated that I didn’t want to get dog hair all over my rear when I got back in the car. He teased me by patting the dog in a way that would cause her to shed more hair onto the seat.”

“I see. It’s a good thing you guys are married to each other because if I was married to either one of you, it wouldn’t work out because I wouldn’t have a clue what you were trying to say.”

“Well, we have been together for quite awhile.”

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

