Grammar Joking

During a midday phone conversation, my dear husband said, “Well, I need to go. Aubrey and me are getting ready to do some cool work.”

“You meant ‘Aubrey and I are getting ready to do some cool work’,” I replied as I always do. I then went on to jokingly rant about now knowing where his daughter gets it. I was so busy harassing him that I almost missed his response:

“No, I don’t think you’d be very good at it, actually.”

He eventually interrupted me to claim that he had gotten just the response he had wanted.

“Wait,” I said. “Are you actually trying to claim that you deliberately utilized poor grammar in order to provoke me into correcting you so you could make that lame joke?”

“That’s exactly what I’m saying.”

“And you expect me to believe that?”

“Yes.”

At this point in our relationship, we are both so predictable, it’s almost sad. But still fun.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

