Playing Favorites

On Wednesdays, my husband and I have bell choir practice while the children have choir practice. When bell choir is done, the children then have chime choir practice. My husband is the director of the chime choir and the oldest two kids are in it.

Hal is too young so he and I usually hang around the church or go home early or if the lady that watches him during bell choir wants to hang around, I sometimes run errands while he watches a movie.

This evening, we had just said good-bye to the lady and were lollygagging around in the hallway.

“Mommy? Where’s Bubba?”

“He’s in chime choir.”

“Where’s Daddy?”

“He’s with the kids in chime choir. You know that, honey.”

“When are you going to be in with the kids?”

“Hal, it sounds an awful lot like you are saying, ‘Hey, Mommy. I really don’t want to hang out with you. When are you going to take over for Daddy so I can spend time with him instead of you?'”

“I am saying that.”

Tact is not one of Hal’s virtues. I grabbed him in a bear hug and mussed up his hair, saying, “Thanks a lot kid!”

He laughed and pulled away and then tried to get me to carry him. After what you said, boy?! I think you can walk.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

