How We Do Things In The Stone Age

Apparently I piqued the curiosity of my Renaissance Man coworker when I divulged that we do not enjoy any television reception, antenna nor cable. I don’t know how much time he has spent pondering how we do things in the Stone Age, but it was obviously on his mind when we passed in the hall today.

We passed with simple head nods and murmured hellos and were nearly twenty yards apart, at the far ends of a long hallway, when he turned to ask me a question.

“So. If you don’t have a TV, how do you get your news?”

I turned and studied him for a moment, a small hint of a smile dancing on my lips.

“NPR and Google News. Oh, and articles that people share on Facebook.”

He processed the information before addressing where he found my deficiencies.

“Well, I watch the news for weather and traffic.”

The laughter inside my head was threatening to overtake my exterior.

“I have a weather app on my phone,” I said. “And Google Maps reroutes me if there are traffic problems.”

And with that, I turned to resume my trip down the hall. Score one for the Cave Woman.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

