Monster in my Closet Guest Blog

I’ve been pretty much a lone blogger for the year and a half that I’ve been doing this.  If people started following my blog, I thought that was cool and I might go look at theirs, but for the most part, I was just writing.  I barely had time to write so when was I supposed to find time to read?!

Then Deborah Bryan over at The Monster In My Closet linked to my blog in one of hers, referring to me as a new-to-her blogger that she was enjoying.  I enjoyed hers too so started following it, and then started paying more attention and looking for more people to read.

Deb put out a request for guest bloggers and I thought it’d be fun to participate.  Then I read the theme and thought, “Dang!  I haven’t had any experiences like that!  I don’t have anything to say.”

She was asking people about a time when someone they loved and respected dismissed their ability to accomplish their dreams.  I’ve never had anyone do that directly – not on big things like getting my education, finding a job, etc.  Certainly not anyone important to me, like a parent or close friend.

But then I remembered an event in my life and realized that it’s all a matter of perspective.  The situation was, in the grand scheme of things, minor compared to big life dreams.  And the person dissing me was unimportant, looking back.  But I was a young teenager and *madly* in love.  So in my world just then, he really was important to me.  And the event helped show me, for better or for worse, who I am.  It was a defining moment in my life.

So… without further ado…. here’s my first-ever guest blog.

Oh, and interestingly enough, as I started writing that story, it felt like I had already written it before.  So I went digging and realized that I had.  The context of the post was different and it was a shortened version included with other stories to explore how women like me behave when trying to “make it” in a male dominated environment.  I hadn’t published it yet.  I’ve polished it a couple of times, but not yet run it.  So when you see it some time in the coming weeks and it looks familiar to you, don’t say I didn’t warn you.

2 thoughts on “Monster in my Closet Guest Blog

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

