Applying Logic To The Pizza Patron

I took my boys to the local CiCi’s pizza buffet recently while Jane was at volleyball practice.  Daddy was out of town, the week was going poorly, and a friend’s organization was having a fundraiser night there.  Even though it’s not a place we often visit, that was motivation enough to go.

I think we’ve been there three times in the last year.  The most recent time was in December, when we encountered a woman that we used to attend church with.  She had her youngest child with her at the time.  We said hi to her and she stopped by our table later to chat and comment on how big our kids were getting.

Well, lo and behold, guess who was at CiCi’s again the night we returned?  Yep.  The woman and her youngest child.  I walked over and said hi and she said, “Wow.  You guys are here again?  Do you come every night or something?”  I laughed and returned the question.

Some time later, Daryl asked me under his breath, “Do they come here every day?”

“Who?” I asked, not knowing whether he had noticed her or not.

“The blonde woman that we saw last time,” He responded, still speaking quietly as if he suspected there might be something wrong with her.

I laughed.  “You know, she asked the same thing about us.”

He took another bite of pizza while he considered what I said.  “You know,” he said, “if you apply logic, if she came here every day, then she would know that we don’t come here every day because she wouldn’t have seen us; so since she asked the question, that proves she doesn’t come here every day.”

“And since we asked the question of her, it proves it for us too,” I said.

“Right.”

When it comes to common sense, chores, consequences, etc., my children are every bit as illogical as the next child.  That’s why I relish so much the moments like this when I see them working things out on their own and drawing logical conclusions. It means they are thinking and learning and eager and willing to do so.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

