Mommy Kisses, Revisited

Hal has a thing about kisses.  He’s kind of particular about them. And leery of them.  I first blogged about it in Mommy Kisses – Cheek or Crown way back in October 2012, just before he turned four years old.

Back then, he’d let me kiss him on the lips but not the cheeks. To be honest, until I reread that post, I had forgotten that I was allowed lip kisses. I thought that the situation now was the same as the situation had been then. It’s been interesting to read what I wrote then and compare it to what’s happening now.

For several months now, Hal has refused to kiss me on the lips. Actually, he has refused to kiss me at all and will only let me kiss him on the cheeks. If I move in for the lip kiss, he turns his head to the side.

We’ve been talking about it. I’ve asked him why. He doesn’t know. Daddy has tried to tell him to kiss me. For the most part, I’ve discouraged that approach. On the one hand, it hurts that he won’t kiss me. On the other hand, I don’t want him to feel compelled. But I’d ask every once in awhile. And cajole. Once I did grab his face and plant a big (dry!) kiss on his lips.

One day, he said, “Ok, ok, here we go” and headed in for a kiss. At the last minute, he diverted to my forehead. And giggled. “Ok, ok, I’m going to try again” and then headed in and… turned quickly to my cheek.

Since then, he’s been gradually working on it without me even bringing it up. He’ll announce he’s going to kiss me, then grab my face and kiss first one cheek, then the other, then my forehead, and then… just when I think he’s not going to… my lips.

It’s turned into a rather fun game. And I am, for the first time in nearly four and a half years, completely relaxed about it. I usually just hug him. And then he does his “sign of the cross” kissing routine on my face. And we laugh. And each time, it gets a little easier and a little more fun.

So I’ll keep my strange little kid and his strange little kissing aversion. Who knows what it will be in another couple of years?

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

