You Look Like A Cow

Saturday afternoon, my daughter referred to a comment made by a friend of ours as if my husband had said it. He responded, “That wasn’t me. That was Mrs. Duke. Do I look like Mrs. Duke?”

She said, “Well, you have two eyes and two ears and a nose and a mouth and so does Mrs. Duke, so yeah, you look like Mrs. Duke.”

“Ok,” he said, “then you look like a cow.”

She immediately hurried into where I was and said indignantly, “Daddy just said I’m fat!”

“No he didn’t,” I said.

She raised her eyebrows as if prompting me to explain.

“He didn’t say you were fat. He said you look like a cow.”

“See!” she cried triumphantly.

“He meant that you have big floppy ears and a vacant expression on your face, honey.”

Her reaction was quite satisfying.

And what I really like about my daughter is that even though she feigned even more indignation at my clarification, she liked it enough to share with the young man who came to meet us later that evening.

4 thoughts on “You Look Like A Cow

    • What?! You wanna know what we thought of the young man? 😉

      Well… that’s a longer and more difficult post to write than this little piece of fluff and it was a very busy weekend. Hopefully I’ll get it out by Wed or Thurs.

      Nutshell though, he seems nice enough.

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

