Did You Brush Your Teeth?

Yesterday, I was responsible for opening the church so after my run and a quick shower, I left my family to their morning routine and headed to the church. When I returned, I found my boys lounging in the living room.

“Are you guys ready to go?”

“Yes.”

“Hal, did you brush your teeth?”

“Yes.”

This is a dubious claim when coming from him, one that always requires verification.

“Let me smell your breath.”

He let out an audible indicator of frustration as he hopped up, slammed down what he was holding, and began stomping right past me toward the bathroom.

He grumbled as he went, “No one ever believes me!!!”

“So did you brush your teeth?”

“NOOOOO!”

“You think that might be why we don’t believe you?”

“Ugggggghhhhh!”

This routine is a twice daily occurrence in one form or another. And he wonders why we don’t believe him.

2 thoughts on “Did You Brush Your Teeth?

Did this strike a chord with you? Tell me about it!

